Avatar

Please consider registering
guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS forum_topic_icon
Improved lie
Topic Rating: 0 Topic Rating: 0 (0 votes) 
July 14, 2015
10:00 pm
Avatar
Renfrew

Tour Star
Forum Posts: 172
Member Since:
December 12, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I'll start by saying I think I broke the rule but followed the spirit of the rules, fairness, and the game in general.

I was playing and hit my tee shot way left into long fescue. I get to the area and a member of the grounds crew tells me where it is. Awesome right? So I'm pumped I'll find my ball (not always/usually possible). Then he says, "I trampled down the grass around it so you can hit it." Well. I get over there and he has trampled down the grass in a 4 foot circle around it, and by the looks of it teed my ball up on a high point. I thank him and off he goes. I then mark my ball, find the closest un-trampled area, (a la nearest point of relief), and drop in the fescue. 

I punch it out, then put it on the green and 2 putt.

Score I write down?

Covert Tour 2.0 Driver, XHot 3w, Sumo 5w, Diablo Edge Tour 4h, Bio Cell 5.5h, Vapour Pro Combo 7i-AW, VRPro 55*, SM4 60*, Tour S 64*, TruRoll Putter

July 15, 2015
7:44 pm
Avatar
Kanata, Ontario

Moderator
Forum Posts: 345
Member Since:
October 26, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

This is an interesting situation and not 100% on my answer but if I had to make a ruling on this I would rule that it was your lucky day until you went and moved your ball.  If you had witnessed and not tried to stop the guy from trampling down the grass you would be penalized 2 strokes for improving your lie.  If you didn't know he was doing this then the ball should have been played as it lies and feel lucky.  As you moved your ball and now played from a wrong place you would get a 2 stoke penalty and therefore your score would be 6.Confused

July 15, 2015
9:33 pm
Avatar
Renfrew

Tour Star
Forum Posts: 172
Member Since:
December 12, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I agree with the 6 for ESC (double my max), but I think it should be a 7. Drive, 2 stroke penalty, Chunk out, put on, 2 putts. 

Had I been playing competitive I would have played it as it lie. However, in the interest of fairness I dropped in a lie similar to what I should have been in. And felt no guilt writing down 5. Played so poorly that day it'll never count for my cap anyway.

Covert Tour 2.0 Driver, XHot 3w, Sumo 5w, Diablo Edge Tour 4h, Bio Cell 5.5h, Vapour Pro Combo 7i-AW, VRPro 55*, SM4 60*, Tour S 64*, TruRoll Putter

July 15, 2015
10:24 pm
Avatar
Kanata, Ontario

Moderator
Forum Posts: 345
Member Since:
October 26, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Whoops, I forgot the chip out so would be 7 and if you would have played it as it lies then 5.

Forum Timezone: America/Toronto

Most Users Ever Online: 88

Currently Online:
15 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 0

Members: 338

Moderators: 8

Admins: 3

Forum Stats:

Groups: 8

Forums: 30

Topics: 2387

Posts: 4802