History Walk – The Roots of the PGA of Ottawa

The original board of the PGA of Ottawa (PGA of Ottawa archives)
The original board of the PGA of Ottawa (PGA of Ottawa archives)
The original board of the PGA of Ottawa (PGA of Ottawa archives)

A momentous change for the Canadian Professional Golf Association, now known as the PGA of Canada, took place in the Ottawa area on January 1, 1976.

On that date, the CPGA Ottawa Zone, now known as the PGA of Ottawa, formed their own association and became the ninth zone within the PGA of Canada.

In an Ottawa Citizen article on January 13, 1976, Ottawa Zone Captain Harry Hereford from the Rivermead Golf Club was quoted – “It’s taken a year of hard sell, but it’s a brand new ball game now. We’ll now have a greater voice in our own destiny and golfers throughout the area should benefit.”

At the time, 45 golf professionals from 40 clubs made up the Ottawa Zone. Today the PGA of Ottawa has a membership of close to 200 golf professionals.

In the same Ottawa Citizen Article, Ottawa Zone Vice-President Bud Malloy from Hylands Golf Club was quoted – “Surprisingly, we received no opposition from the Quebec zone of which we’d been part since CPGA inception. In fact, they supported our proposal as did Ontario and the CPGA president. Actually, the creation of zone status was more a process of evolution than anything else. In 1965, Chaudiere’s Stan Kolar and several other area pros formed the Ottawa Valley PGA group under the QPGA and we’ve operated most successfully at that level ever since. However, because of our geographic location we were too far from Toronto region or even Montreal region competitions for many of us to participate in major events. Also, while our group encompassed so many members, we had no voice at the national level. The zone status rectifies this situation.”

The Executive and Committee Members for the inaugural PGA of Ottawa Zone were President – Tom Mann (Royal Ottawa); Vice Presidents – Bud Malloy (Hylands), Peter Haime (Ottawa Hunt), Stan Kolar (Chaudiere); Captain – Harry Hereford (Rivermead); Vice Captain – Tim Cole (Royal Ottawa) and Committee Members Arnold Weiss (Rideau View), Gerry McKee (Kanata) and Larry McCauley.

– Joe McLean



FGM Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!