Annual Slammer Tour Awards Presented

Last Friday, December 5th, saw The Slammer Tour, an Ottawa-Gatineau based match-play golf league run by Executive Golf, hand out their annual awards.

“The Slammies” were presented during a fun-filled evening at the Falcon Ridge Golf Club in the south end of Ottawa.  The ceremony included a multiple-course dinner, light entertainment and the award presentation.

Michael Muise (PizzaMan) (centre) wins the The Preston Cup as Slammer of the Year: Courtesy of Bill & Carole Ryan (presenting) and as voted on by fellow Slammers. This is the Tour's top award (Photo: Submitted)

Members of the tour, which includes player of every level – from beginner to professional, must play a minimum of ten events throughout the season to be eligible for the awards.

The Slammies were first presented in 2001, four years after the founding of the tour in 1997.

The winners of the 2011 awards (and their nicknames in parenthesis) are as follows:


Michael Muise (PizzaMan): The Preston Cup, Slammer of the Year: Courtesy of Bill &

Carole Ryan and as voted on by fellow Slammers, this is the Tour’s top award

Sebastien Campeau (Popeye): Ottawa Sun Rookie of the Year: Awarded to a new

Slammer who exemplifies the Tour’s values of sportsmanship

Andrew Miles (PointZero): The BG Golf-O-Max Cup: Awarded to the season’s most

improved player

Craig Domville (Chef): The Cascagnette Cup: Open Tour Champion

Julie Cashaback (Cash): The Falcon Ridge Cup: Ladies Tour Champion

Robert Lefebvre (ParBreaker): RBC Dominion Securities Skinny FatMan Cup: Senior Tour


Bob Walker (Rexall): Super Senior Tour Champion

Jake Therien (SunnyBoy): Junior Tour Champion

Mike Therien & Jake Therien (Sunny & SunnyBoy): The Billy-Dee Cup: Parent-Child Tour


Darcy Jenkins & Julie Cashaback (Ripzone & Cash): The Mixed/Co-Ed Tour Champions

Kevin Baldelli (ProZee): Promomedia B Tour Championship

Lisa Muise (IronMaiden): Ladies B Tour Champion

Sebastien Campeau (Popeye): C-Class Tour Champion

Katie Weatherston (Golden Girl): Ladies C Tour Champion

Denis Belanger (Lynksy): D-Class Tour Champion

Jerry Stewart (Chilly): The Combat Hockey Cup: Top-Ranked Slammer

BullDog’s 10-Hole Club: Awarded to multiple players who were skunked in 2011

Marie Lusson (SunShine): The OC’s Most Style’n Slammer: Best-Dressed Slammer

Gabe Louli (Ticklar): The Bud Light Cup: Most Points

Gabe Louli (Ticklar): The TAN Co. Doggie Cup: Most Closest-To-The-Pins

Gabe Louli (Ticklar): The Canadian Cup: Most Birdies

Mitch Dale (Burnsy): The Office Doctor Cup: Most Eagles

Gabe Louli (Ticklar): The Evolution Physio Cup: Most Skins

Bob Walker (Rexall): The Ian Campbell Cup: Best Win Percentage

Jim Backs (Grumpy): The Casselview Cup: Highest Financial Contribution



FGM Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!