Canada Falls To 6th At World Amateur Team Championship

– Disastrous 17th hole leaves Team Canada nine shots back of leader France; Eugene Wong tied for 5th in the individual competition; championship shortened to 54 holes –

Buenos Aires, Argentina (Golf Canada)_ Team Canada was looking good through 16 holes Saturday before struggles on the 17th hole at the Buenos Aires Golf Club saw the Canucks drop to 6th heading into the final round of the 2010 Men’s World Amateur Team Championship in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

The Canadian trio of Eugene Wong of Vancouver (67-75), Albin Choi of Toronto (70-77) and Cam Burke of New Hamburg, Ont. (75-76) carded a second-round team total 7-over 151 which included the disastrous 17th hole where Canada counted both a double and triple bogey.

Burke and Wong were each 1-over through their opening 16 holes in cool and windy conditions.  Wong double-bogeyed the 385-yard par 4 17th, Burke made triple bogey and Canada dropped five shots on the hole.  Each player missed birdie tries on 18 and now Canada heads into Sunday’s final round nine shots off the lead.

Team Canada was one of 34 countries that took to the course Saturday morning needing to complete their second round after heavy rain and lightning forced the suspension of play on Friday.

When play resumed this morning, Canada was alone in 2nd at 5-under for the tournament, a single stroke back of Denmark who held the clubhouse lead at 6-under through 36 holes.

France, who led after round one, struggled early before bouncing back to finish even par on the day and 7-under through 36 holes, good for a one-stroke lead over Denmark (-6) heading into final round action.

The United States is alone in third at 1-under while New Zealand (E), Sweden (+1) and Canada (+2) round out the top six.

Canadian Eugene Wong holds a share of 5th place individual honours as the low Canadian, tied with two other golfers at 1-under.  Joachim Hansen of Denmark is the overall leader at 7-under par followed by New Zealand’s Ben Campbell and France’s Romain Wattel at 4-under and France’s Alexander Levy alone in 4th at 3-under.

Albin Choi fell back into a share of 31st position at 4-over par while Burke is tied for 63rd at 8-over.

Following Friday’s heavy rain and lightning, tournament officials made the decision to reduce this year’s event to a 54-hole competition with the final round beginning immediately following the completion of Saturday’s second round.

After the completion of the second round, a draw was made for the third round with the leading teams playing at Buenos Aires Golf Club and the lower half of the field competing at Olivos Golf Club.

Canada (+2) will tee off Sunday at approximately 11:00 am local time (10:00 am ET) and will be paired with New Zealand (E) and Sweden (+1).  The final grouping will include France (-7), Denmark (-6) and the United States (-1).

A complete list of team and individual scores from the 2010 Men’s World Amateur Team Championship can be found at

The event is being held at Olivos Golf Club and Buenos Aires Golf Club, where Team Canada is one of 69 nations competing for the coveted Eisenhower Trophy.

Canada will look to build on solid past results at the championship, which is conducted by the International Golf Federation.  In 25 years of competing in the prestigious international event, Canada has notched one win (1986) and 11 top-5 finishes. In 2008, Canada finished tied for ninth.

Conducted by the International Golf Federation (formerly the World Amateur Golf Council), which comprises the national governing bodies of golf in more than 120 countries, the World Amateur Team Championships are biennial international amateur golf competitions rotated among three geographic zones of the world: Asia-Pacific, Americas and Europe-Africa.

Each team has two or three players and plays 18 holes of stroke play for four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

Players must be amateur golfers under the Rules of Amateur Status of The R&A, the United States Golf Association or the Royal Canadian Golf Association, and must be citizens of the countries they represent.

The winning team receives custody of the Eisenhower Trophy for the ensuing two years. Members of the winning teams receive gold medals; members of the second-place teams receive silver medals; and members of the third-place teams receive bronze medals. The lowest individual score in each championship is recognized at the respective awards ceremony, but no prize is awarded.

More information about the 2010 World Amateur Team Golf Championship is available online at

Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!