Carlino and Cho Win Ontario Men’s Better Ball Championship

The 2011 Golf Association of Ontario tournament season got under way on Thursday, May 13th, as Sean Carlino of Hamilton and Un Cho of Ancaster captured the Ontario Men’s Better Ball Championship at Oakdale Golf and Country Club in Downsview, Ontario.

The pair started the day with five straight pars before they got things going when Cho birdied the eighth and Carlino birdied the ninth. Cho carded an additional three birdies and Carlino added one at the fifteenth to get the duo to seven under par to capture the Championship.

Bruce Frick and Jay Jewett of Sudbury combined for a six under par 66 to claim second place. Three teams ended up in a tie for third place including the young team of Harris Bundy and Nathan Garland from Scarborough Golf and Country Club, the GAO veteran teams Dave Bunker (Woodbridge) and Rob Cowan (Waterloo) and the team of Rob Pearson (Kitchener) and Pete McMenemy (Waterloo).

The top finishers from Eastern Ontario were Greg Knudsen of Belleville and his partner, Bryan McAlpine of Toronto.  Their score of 73 earned them a share of 20th place.

Two-time Kingston City Champion Sean Lackey (The Landings) and his partner, Taylor Henderson, tied for 26th with a 74.

2011 marks the 52nd playing of the Ontario Men’s Better Ball Championship. First conducted in 1959, the inaugural event was won by Cowan’s dad Gary and partner Ernie Hauser who went on to win the event again in 1960 and 30 years later in 1990. The event has continued to draw some of the best talent in Ontario year after year, including 2003 Masters Champion Mike Weir who won the event in 1988 alongside former caddy Brennan Little.

Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!