Champions Crowned by OVGA

OVGA Mens Tournament of Club Champions Winners. Left to right are Pat Finch (Champions Nest), Andre Barbe (Algonquin), Kurtis Barcley (Cedar Glen) and Andy Davis (Perth)The Predator and Talon Courses at the Greyhawk Golf Club hosted almost 200 Ottawa Valley Golf association member club champions on a beautiful fall day on September 29th. Not only were both courses in magnificent shape but the fall colors were also out in abundance.

The OVGA Tournament of Club Champions brings together both female and male club champions in “A”, “B”, “C” and senior classes and they participate for bragging rights at the OVGA Tournament of Club Champions Championship. Keep in mind that all of the participants are already champions and this competition brings together the best of the best.

On the Ladies’ side, the “A” Class winner was Kiersten Kleckner-Alt from Camelot with a fine score of two under par 70. She was followed by Lise Jubinville (75) from Carleton Golf & Yacht Club and Louise Hotte (76) from the Buckingham Golf Club.

Metcalfe’s Heather Lockett was the winner in “B” Class with her score of 90 and she was followed by Lombard Glen’s Bonnie Brown (91) and Monica Plamondon (92) from the Outaouais Golf Club. In “C” Class, Madawaska’s Janice Bonnar finished in first place with her score of 92. Joyce Treboutat from the Glen Mar Golf Club and Brigitte Lebel from Hautes Plaines posted scores of 100 to finish second and third decided by retrogression.  In the senior class, Christine Lafortune from Arnprior was the winner after a one-hole sudden-win playoff with Algonquin’s Carole Letendre. Both ladies had finished with scores of 80. In third place was Raylene Baker from the host club with her score of 81.

Kurtis Barkley from Cedar Glen led all of the male competitors with his fine score of 5-under-par 67. Second in “A” Class was the host club’s Dan Tapp with a three under round of 69 and third place went to Mississippi’s Carson Scissons and his one under score of 71.

“B” Class honors went to Perth’s Andy Davis and his score of 78. He was followed by eQuinelle’s John Simpson at 79 and Scott Tyrie at 80. After a two-hole playoff, Patrick Finch from Champion’s Nest became a repeat winner. Patrick had posted a score of 94 to tie Greensmere’s Wayne McKee. Third place went to Nationview’s Dick Loewen with his score of 99. Senior Class honors were won by Algonquin’s Andre Barbe and his three-under-par score of 69. He was followed by Smiths Falls’ Ron Dolinki at two under par 70and Eagle Creek’s Pat Stoqua at one under pat 71.

Congratulations to all of the participants who represented their clubs at the OVGA Tournament of Club Champions.

Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!