Dunlop-Hébert Appointed as President of Golf Canada

Diane Dunlop-Hèbert has been appointed as the 109th President of the Royal Canadian Golf Association (Golf Canada)

At the conclusion of the Golf Canada Annual General Meeting in Montreal on February 11th, a native of that city, Diane Dunlop-Hébert, was appointed as the 109th President of the association.

Canada’s National Sport Organization for Golf will be led by the former accountant who was a two-term President of Golf Quebec.  She was Golf Quebec’s first female President. She joined Golf Canada in 2008 and ascended to the role of Vice-President in 2011 while also serving on various committees.

Trained as an accountant, for the last fifteen years the Mont Bruno Golf member has been the Director and Vice-President of Business Development for Groupe Parke Avenue.  The company operate a auto mall in Montreal encompassing a number of retail franchises for major car manufacturers.

“I am privileged and deeply honoured to be appointed the 109th president of this storied association,” said Dunlop-Hébert, who succeeds 2011 president Karen Rackel of Edmonton. “I want to thank the Board of Directors of Golf Canada for their confidence in my leadership and I look forward to representing our 1,500 member clubs and more than 340,000 members in working to carry out Golf Canada’s mandate to grow participation and excellence in Canadian golf. Together with our provincial and national partners as well as passionate volunteers across the country, I believe that Canadian golf can and will accomplish great things in 2012.”

Dunlop-Hébert is just the second female president in the 116-year history of the association that was formed at the Royal Ottawa Golf Club in 1895.  The RCGA now operates as Golf Canada and was amalgamated with the Canadian Ladies Golf Association in 2005.

Michael P. Carroll of Vancouver now assumes the role of Vice-President of Golf Canada with the Douglas Alexander of London, Ontario becoming Second Vice-President.

Liz Hoffman of Thornhill, Ont. and Roland Deveau of Clare, N.S. will join the 2012 Board of Directors that also includes Rackel, Charlie Beaulieu of Lorraine, Que., Leslie Dunning of Calgary, Barbara Allan of Kingston, Ont., Paul McLean of Richmond Hill, Ont., and Chris Rudge of Toronto.



FGM Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!