France Wins World Amateur Team Golf Championship

– Team Canada finishes tied for 8th; Eugene Wong tied for 4th in the individual competition –

Buenos Aires, Argentina (Golf Canada)_ France shot a tournament-total 7-under par (423) to win the 2010 Men’s World Amateur Team Championship in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

The French team of Johann Lopez-Lazaro, Alexander Levy and Romain Wattel began the day with a single-stroke lead over Denmark and played even-par golf during  their final-round on Sunday to finish with a 4-stroke, wire-to-wire victory.

France led after the first and second rounds of the weather shortened 54-hole event and held off a steady challenge from Denmark and a final-round push from the United States to capture the gold medal and the country’s first Eisenhower Trophy.  France’s previous best finishes were runner-up in 2002 and tied for 3rd in 1992.

Denmark (-3) captured silver, the country’s first-ever medal at the Men’s World Amateur Team Championship while the United States (-2) took home bronze, the country’s 23rd medal at the event.  New Zealand (+5) and Scotland (+6) rounded out the top-5 while Ireland (+9) and Germany (+10) placed 6th and 7th respectively.

Team Canada’s trio of Eugene Wong of Vancouver (67-75-72), Albin Choi of Toronto (70-77-81) and Cam Burke of New Hamburg, Ont. (75-76-87) began the day in 6th position but shot a disappointing final-round team score of 9-over par to finish with a tournament total 11-over par (441), good for a share of 8th place with England and Belgium.

Wong was the anchor of the Canadian team shooting a final-round, even-par 72 and tournament total score of 1-under par to finish tied for 4th in the individual standings.

Neither Choi nor Burke could get anything going during Sunday’s final round to help Canada’s team score as both struggled in the windy conditions; Choi counting a final-round of 9–over 81 while Burke carded a disappointing round of 87 that included a sextuple-bogey 11 on the par-5, 6th hole and a quadruple-bogey 8 on the par-4, 8th at Buenos Aires Golf Club.

Joachim Hansen of Denmark shot a final round 1-over 73 to top the overall individual leader board at 6-under par (209) while French teammates Alexander Levy (-3) and Romain Wattel (-2) rounded out the top-3.

Wong finished tied for 4th with New Zealand’s Ben Campbell, Max Kieffer of Germany, Scotland’s James Byrne and Peter Uihlein of the United States at 1-under for the tournament.

Albin Choi finished with a share of 57th position at 13-over par while Burke tied for 132nd at 23-over par.

A complete list of team and individual scores from the 2010 Men’s World Amateur Team Championship can be found at

The 2010 event was held at Olivos Golf Club and Buenos Aires Golf Club, where Team Canada was one of 69 nations competing for the coveted Eisenhower Trophy.

In 25 years of competing in the prestigious international event, Canada has one win (1986) and 11 top-5 finishes. In 2008, Canada finished tied for ninth.

Conducted by the International Golf Federation (formerly the World Amateur Golf Council), which comprises the national governing bodies of golf in more than 120 countries, the World Amateur Team Championships are biennial international amateur golf competitions rotated among three geographic zones of the world: Asia-Pacific, Americas and Europe-Africa.

Each team has two or three players and plays 18 holes of stroke play for four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

Players must be amateur golfers under the Rules of Amateur Status of The R&A, the United States Golf Association or the Royal Canadian Golf Association, and must be citizens of the countries they represent.

The winning team receives custody of the Eisenhower Trophy for the ensuing two years. Members of the winning teams receive gold medals; members of the second-place teams receive silver medals; and members of the third-place teams receive bronze medals. The lowest individual score in each championship is recognized at the respective awards ceremony, but no prize is awarded.

More information about the 2010 World Amateur Team Golf Championship is available online at

Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!