Golf Canada Names National Team Program Members For 2017

Grace St-Germain
Austin James (Photo: Charleston Southern University)
Austin James (Photo: Charleston Southern University)

Golf Canada has announced the golfers who will be part of their National Team programs for 2017.

The sixteen athletes will comprise both the National and Development rosters.

Eight players were named to the main National Team, four females and four males.

Included are the roster for the National Women’s Team are Maddie Szeryk, Allen, Tex., Ontario Public Player (20), Naomi Ko, Victoria, B.C., Royal Colwood Golf Club (19), Jaclyn Lee, Calgary, Alta., Glencoe Golf & Country Club (19), and Grace St-Germain, Ottawa, Ont., Camelot Golf & Country Club (18).

The Men’s National Team will include: Jared du Toit, Kimberley, B.C., Glencoe Golf & Country Club (21), Hugo Bernard, Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Que., Laval sur-le-Lac Club (21), Austin James, Bath, Ont., Loyalist Golf & Country Club (21), and Stuart Macdonald, Vancouver, B.C., Point Grey Golf & Country Club (21).

Eight players were announced as members of the National Development Squad, which is primarily made up of players under the age of 19.

The Women’s Team includes: Mary Parsons, Delta, B.C., Mayfair Lakes Golf Club (17), Monet Chun, Richmond Hill, Ont., Summit Golf & Country Club (15), Chloe Currie, Mississauga, Ont., Mississaugua Golf & Country Club (16), and Hannah Lee, Surrey, B.C., Northview Golf & Country Club (16).

On the Men’s side of the Development program will be: A.J. Ewart, Coquitlam, B.C., Pitt Meadows Golf Club (17), Peyton Callens, Langton, Ont., Delhi Golf & Country Club (16), Chandler McDowell, Springbrook, Alta., Red Deer Golf & Country Club (16), and Max Sekulic, Rycroft, Alta., Grande Prairie Golf & Country Club (17)

“Based on their outstanding performances this year, we are very excited to announce the young men and women chosen to represent Canada as part of the National Program,” said Jeff Thompson, Golf Canada’s Chief Sport Officer. “It is the goal of our program to support and assist the players in their development. We accomplish that by bringing this group of elite-level players together and surrounding them with world-class coaching, sport science expertise and exposure to training and competitive schedules that will serve as a benchmarks for their development from a global perspective.”

Golf Canada also released news that the 2017 Team Canada coaching staff will include Derek Ingram returning as Men’s Squad Head Coach, supported by Robert Ratcliffe who will also head up the Development Squad. On the women’s side, Tristan Mullally returns as Women’s Squad Head Coach and will receive support from Ann Carroll, who will oversee the Women’s Development Squad specifically. All coaches are all class “A” professionals with the PGA of Canada.

The 2017 Young Pro Squad team selection is expected mid-November.

%d bloggers like this: