Huang and Defalco Win OVGA City & District B Championships

by Joe McLean

Ruixue Huang from the Hautes Plaines Golf Club in Gatineau, Quebec and Madawaska Golf Club’s Tony Defalco are the 2022 Ottawa Valley Golf Association “B” Division City & District Champions after two days of competitive golf at the Rockland and Renfrew Golf Clubs.

Ruixie Huang (Photo: Joe McLean)


Ruixue raised the Rose Bowl Trophy in victory at Renfrew, but not until she had completed a 1-hole sudden-win playoff over Rockland Golf Club’s Diane Nault. Both players had finished Division 2 competition with identical total-scores of 175. The Rose Bowl was first awarded in 1958 and was presented by 2021 Champion and OVGA Women’s Tournament Director Sherry Rodenkirch.

Tied for 3rd place with total scores of 182 in the competition were Hylands Golf Club team-mates Brenda Pilon and Nancy Gerritse followed by Algonquin’s Sylvie Martin and Rockland’s Barbara Ann Lorraine tied for 5th place with scores of 188.

Tony Defalco (Photo: Joe McLean)


Tony Defalco from the Madawaska Golf Club in Arnprior, Ontario is the 2022 recipient of the SFM “Swatty” Wotherspoon Memorial Trophy, first competed for in 1950, after completing two days of competition in the OVGA “B” Class City & District Championship. His total score over the two days was 159 (80-79).

Flagstick asked the newly crowned champion about his win.

“I’ve only been playing in OVGA events for two years so it feels good to get a win. Both courses were in great shape and I stayed steady with my chipping and my putting both days and my caddy and wife Jess did a great job today.”

Public player Andy Cournoyer finished in 2nd place with his two-day total score of 165 (82-83). Tied for 3rd place with total scores of 166 were Buckingham’s Carl Lanoie (88-78) and Club EG’s Eric Irons (80-86). Alone in 5th place was Madawaska’s Caleb Brown (87-81).


Ten Division 1 women will compete in the 3rd round of the OVGA City & District Women’s City & District Championship at the Royal Ottawa Golf Club on Wednesday, July 27th. 

This championship is being played in the 100th anniversary year of the formation of the Ottawa City & District Women’s Division at the Royal Ottawa Golf Club in 1922.

Leading the way in the final round is the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club’s Haley Yerxa who was the 2020 champion. She enters the final round with an 8-stroke lead over Hylands Golf Club team-mates Lise Jubinville and Diane Dolan. 

Also making the cut were Rideau View’s Susan Pearl, Royal Ottawa’s Avery Mack, Brockville’s Teri De Luis, Sand Point’s Christine Lafortune, Rivermead’s Wanda Pilon and Hylands team-mates Judy Collins and Yinka Aiyede.


Stephane Pare from the Renfrew Golf Club with his two-day total score of 4-under par 139 will lead the 19 players who made the cut and play in the final group at Royal Ottawa with the Royal Ottawa’s Brendan Kuffner (-2) and Renfrew team-mate Jonah O’Connor who sits at even par. 

Close on their heels in the penultimate group are three former City & District champions. Royal Ottawa’s Max Lizondo (2005 champion) and Ottawa Hunt’s Dwight Reinhart (2020 champion) both sit at 1 over par in the competition. Rounding out the group is 2017 champion Jean-Francois Guillot from the Rivermead Golf Club with his two-day total score 4 over par.

Another City & District Champion making the cut and playing at the Royal Ottawa is Eagle Creek’s Ryan Sevigny who won the trophy in 2019.

Congratulations to Ruixue and Tony for their championship wins and good luck to all of the competitors making the cut and moving on to the Royal Ottawa Golf Club.

Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!