Monday Tee Shots

A mix of Golf News to help you catch up after the weekend:

– Luke Donald achieved the double on Sunday at the Dubai World Championship.  The Englishman secured the Race To Dubai title for the European Tour Money List, adding to the PGA Tour Money List title he won at Disney at the end of October.  He becomes the 1st player to win both titles in a single season.  It is an incredible feat although he would not have been the 1st had Tiger Woods simply paid his membership fee for the European Tour and played a few more European events.  If he had Tiger would have won both titles an amazing seven times.  That figure simply points out the level that Donald has taken his game to, so hats off to him for being the first official winner of both money titles.

-Congratulations at the same time goes to Alvaro Quiros who won the Dubai World Championship, closing with a remarkable eagle on the final hole.  It was also the first win for Quiros using the Callaway RAZR-Fit driver, a new product from his equipment sponsor. He put the driver into play for the first time this past week.

-Speaking of the European Tour, Canadian at the Tour’s Final Qualifying Tournament and he is making a pretty strong bid to become a tour member for 2012.  Andrew Parr of London, Ontario has put himself in decent position halfway through the six round tournament.  Parr has shot 72, 66, 67 so far through Monday.  The top thirty players plus ties at the end of the tournament will earn full tour status.  Those making the four round cut automatically earn full status on the European Challenge Tour and Conditional Status on the European Tour.

– The LPGA has a new Player President.  The LPGA announced Monday that former Tour player and current LPGA member Vicki Goetze-Ackerman has been selected as the player president of the LPGA, effective January 1, 2012. Goetze-Ackerman played 18 seasons on the LPGA Tour before retiring in 2009 to pursue other interests including work with Golf Channel. She was a member of the LPGA Player Executive Committee for the 2005-07 seasons, serving as president in 2007.  She is elected for a three-year term.

– Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele topped off their amazing seasons by pairing up to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout.  The duo posted a score of -32 over three rounds in various formats to clear the field by three.  They each picked up $375,000 for their efforts.

Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!