Outaouais Wins OVGA Senior Men’s Intersectionals

Flagstick Golf Magazine Publisher Jeff Bauder presented the John Holzman trophy to Outaouais Captain Paul Brule

On Tuesday, September 6, sixteen Ottawa Valley Golf Association (OVGA) golf clubs hosted Senior Men’s Intersectional competitions at their clubs. Over 600 players participated on 63 clubs throughout the Ottawa Valley in a match play format.

It was a close finish in the “A” Division of the Ottawa Valley Golf Association Senior Intersectionals held at the Outaouais Golf Club in Rockland, but the home team emerged victorious by 2 strokes over the three-time defending Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club team. The Outaouais victory march actually started at the Hunt Club last year when Outaouais found out they would be hosting this year. An OVGA rule states that a team can only host for two consecutive years and the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club Team had reached their limit. Outaouais vice-captain Paul Brule told his team that since Outaouais was hosting, “I’ll be the Club Captain and next year will be our year.” Perhaps a little presumptuous on his part but maybe just the incentive his team needed. “We have a very strong senior team”, said Mr. Brule. “We also have great camaraderie.” Mr. Brule also indicated that it was nice to have home course advantage and the support of numerous spectators.

After five of the eight matches had been completed Outaouais held a 9 point lead over Hylands and a 12 point lead over The Hunt Club. With one match left on the course, Outaouais was down to a five point lead over Ottawa Hunt with Chris Jones from the Hunt Club already in the clubhouse with 6 points as he closed out his matches early. That meant that Yvan Davidson from Outaouais had to finish with at least two points for the team win or 1 point for a tie with Ottawa Hunt. A sigh of relief from the Outaouais team and supporters took place when Mr. Davidson brought home three out of possible four points.

With their win, Outaouais will host in 2012 the Ottawa Hunt and Hylands Golf Club teams who finished second and third with 31 and 24 points respectfully. Joining them will be the Camelot Golf Club team which was victorious in Division “B”. The Rivermead Golf Club team which finished in fourth place will move down to the “B” Division competition being played at Carleton Golf & Yacht Club in 2012.

Six point winners for winning all of their matches were Rene ‘Rocky’ Rochette, Marc Davidson, Paul Brule and Pierre Arial from Outaouais, Brian Kelahear, Mike Gerrior and Chris Jones from the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club and Neill Colbert from Hylands.

The “John Holzman Trophy” was presented to Outaouais team captain Paul Brule by the OVGA Intersectional sponsor and Publisher of Flagstick Golf Magazine Jeff Bauder. Members of the winning Outaouais Intersectional Team were Ross Contant, Lloyd Smith, Guy Saint-Pierre, Rene Rochette, Marc Davidson, Paul Brule, Pierre Arial, Rupert Larocque, Larry Lucas and Yvan Davidson.


Ottawa Valley Golf Association
Sponsored by Flagstick Golf Magazine

Tuesday Sept. 6, 2011
Points Position
Outaouais Host 33 1
Ottawa Hunt 31 2
Rivermead 8 4
Hylands 24 3
Total 96
6 Points Outaouais Ottawa Hunt Rivermead Hylands
Rene Rochette Brian Kelahear N/A Neil Colbert
Marc Davidson Mike Gerrior
Paul Brule Chris Jones
Pierre Arial
Camelot Host 40 1
Carleton 21 2
Renfrew 17 4
Rideau View 18 3
Total 96
6 Points Camelot Carleton Renfrew Rideau View
Peter Cooke N/A Stephen Dowd N/A
Dave Westfall
Alain Brunet
Brian Darling
Lionel Beauchamp
Kanata Host 28 1
Mississippi 24 2
Royal Ottawa 21 4
Smiths Falls 23 3
Total 96
6 Points Kanata Mississippi Royal Ottawa Smiths Falls
Douglas Vandahl Mike Corbin Ron Graham Ron Dolinki
Brian Robinson David Elliot
Ron McWade
D Position
Cedarhill Host 14 4
Buckingham 23 3
Tecumseh 31 1
Pakenham 28 2
Total 96
6 Points Cedarhill Buckingham Tecumseh Pakenham
Greg Nezan Ed Lacelle Donald Joly Reg Plaster
Pierre Patry Michel Couture Larry Lafleur
Pierre Landry
E Position
Hammond Host 31 1
Arnprior 19 4
Prescott 27 2
Glenmar 19 3
Total 96
6 Points Hammond Arnprior Prescott Glenmar
Norm O’Donnell Terry Lampole Ron McLean Steve Moore
Ron Markel Claude Labranche
Larry Couture
Thurso Host 33 1
Perth 24 3
Deep River 8 4
Greensmere 31 2
Total 96
6 Points Thurso Perth Deep River Greensmere
Jacques Parent Andy Davis N/A Bob Mason
Jacques Massie Robert Lake Doug Legg
G Position
Glengarry Host 36 1
Brockville 25 2
Larrimac 17 4
Kingsway 18 3
Total 96
6 Points Glengarry Brockville Larrimac Kingsway
Dale MacDonald John Frost N/A N/A
Brian Murray
Sill Shields
Rickie Duchesneau
H Position
Vieux Moulins Host 42 1
Greyhawk 35 2
Copperdale 7 4
Mont Cascades 12 3
Total 96
6 Points Vieux Moulins Greyhawk Copperdale Mont Cascades
Alexandre Ladouceur Steve Shaver N/A N/A
Luc Cote Manuel Leal
Pierre Dagenais John Ferry
Moe Proulx
Rick St-Denis
l Position
Nationview Host 39 1
Upper Canada 18 3
Madawaska 15 4
Champlain 24 2
Total 96
6 points Nationview Upper Canada Madawaska Champlain
Cliff Cayer Pete Zeeran N/A Sam Pantuso
Mike Redick John Kreuk
Randy Rockburn
John Anderson
Roy Medaglia
J Position
Pembroke Host 31 1
Poplar Grove 17 3
Mountain Creek 17 4
Bearbrook 31 2
Total 96
6 Points Pembroke Poplar Grove Mountain Creek Bearbrook
Helmutt Plattner N/A Garth Rogers Roger Nerbonne
Reilly O’Brien Andre Lepine
Ray Evans
K Position
Emerald Links Host 18 4
Irish Hills 23 3
Metcalfe 27 2
Lombard Glen 28 1
Total 96
6 Points Emerald Links Irish Hills Metcalfe Lombard Glen
Joe Zappia Wayne Bourbeau Ken Johnston
Dave Sherman
Bob Winters
Rideau Glen Host 23 2
Iroquois 12 4
Amberwood 16 3
Hautes Plaines 45 1
Total 96
6 Points Rideau Glen Iroquois Amberwood Hautes Plaines
Yvon LaFlamme N/A N/A Carl Christie
Guy Villeneuve
Terry Campbell
Marios Paradis
Marcel Dery
Claude Fortier
Royal Papineau Host 32 2
Richmond 12 3
Roanoke 6 4
Algonquin 46 1
Total 96
6 Points Royal Papineau Richmond Roanoke Algonquin
Owen Roberts N/A N/A Barry Hicks
Maurice Richard
Claude Courchesne
Norman Gorman
Gerry Desjardins
Claude Daprato
Andre Barbe
Oaks of Cobden Host 31 1
Village Green 16 4
Canadian 27 2
Cedar Glen 22 3
Total 96
6 Points Oaks of Cobden Village Green Canadian Cedar Glen
George Berube N/A Ken Doussept Larry Harper
Dave Crozier Rick Barkley
Mont Ste Marie Host 28 1
Twin Rivers 0 4
Morrisburg 16 2
Heritage 4 3
Total 48
6 Points Mont Ste Marie Twin Rivers Morrisburg Heritage
Rod Mercier Lawrence LaRoque
Gilles Soligny Donnie Mabo
Wayne French
Claude Lamarche
Andre Oligny
Stan Hogan Position
Whitetail Host 31 2
Pineview 2 4
eQuinelle 38 1
Calabogie 25 3
Total 96
6 points Whitetail Pineview eQuinelle Calabogie
Ron Barrington N/A Kirk Armstrong Lyle Bleeks
Mike Graham Don Swift
Mike Chevrier


Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!