Slammer Team East Wins 2010 Commish’s Cup

-2nd victory for Team East in the 4th annual “Ryder Cup” style team event-

July 18, 2010 – Casselman, Ontario. Nine teams of 12 golfers attacked Casselview Golf & Country Club’s double-cut and rolled greens in a quest to dethrone the 2009 champions, Slammer Team Central, but in the end, captain ProZee and Slammer Team East came out on top with 54 points, just two more than runners-up Slammer Team South.

This was the team’s second victory since the inaugural event in 2007. Slammer Team  East members included captain Kevin Baldelli, Mike Ward, Stan Horton, Karl Parks, Zachary Baldelli, Bob Kunimoto, Scott Laflamme, Brian Kebic, Lawrence McKenna, Tony Forde, Norm Bissell and Andrew Miles.

Conducted by Executive Golf, The Commish’s Cup is The Slammer Tour’s most significant team event of the season with players from both inside and outside of The Slammer Tour itself. The event is always held in mid-July at Casselview Golf & Country Club. Similar in format to the PGA’s Ryder Cup, The Commish’s Cup is a match-play competition consisting of a two-person scramble, followed by a two-person best ball, and two singles’ matches.

Each partner team had the chance to generate as many as 14 points and overall results are combined 12-person team totals: two for the partner scramble; four for the partner best ball; and two for both single’s matches (total of four per player).

“All teams had combined scoring averages of 85 or more in order to be eligible”, said Jamie Ryan, Executive Golf president. “This levels the playing field and keeps the event open for players of all skill levels.”

Four guest teams compiled their own teams and competed in 2010. Slammer Tour members battled each other in the weeks leading up to the event to earn a spot on the team by achieving a top rank within their region, or were acquired as a captain’s picks.

Final 2010 Results


Team Points


Slammer Team East 54


Slammer Team South 52


Slammer Team Central 44 (2009 Champions)


Team Nike 43


Team 4PF 42


Slammer Team West 42


Slammer Team Quebec 34


Team Rough Shape 34


Team Ottawa Valley Mafia 33

Individual Prizes

  • The Coors Light Long Bomb (longest drive on hole #8)

o        Men: Andy Rajhathy (Malone) – Team Nike: 336 yards

o        Ladies: Lisa Muise (IronMaiden) – Slammer Team South: 236 yards

  • Closest-To-The-Pin (“Doggies” in Slammer Tour lingo)

o        #3: Rene Gareau (GolfNut) – Slammer Team South

o        #5: Alex Hendsbee (Captain Crunch) – Slammer Team South

o        #7: Kevin Baldelli (ProZee) – Slammer Team East

o        #16: Peter Degn – Team Rough Shape



FGM Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!

%d bloggers like this: