The Slammer Tour Hands Out Their 2015 Hardware

Jim "Grumpy" Backs (Left) Wins 2015 Slammer of the Year, Jamie Ryan (ClubEG) (Right) Photo: Randy McGee
Jim "Grumpy" Backs (Left) Wins 2015 Slammer of the Year, Jamie Ryan (ClubEG) (Right)
Jim “Grumpy” Backs (Left) Wins 2015 Slammer of the Year, Jamie Ryan (ClubEG) (Right)

While the weather outside was still good enough for a little golf, the Slammer Tour handed out their end of the year awards in December 7th at the Falcon Ridge Golf Course in Ottawa.

The course was still entertaining golfers but the evening was reserved for the show put on by the match-play golf league that calls Ottawa-Gatineau home. The ceremonies were interjected with a musical, played out in between a multi-course dinner and an extensive awards presentation. The honours recognized Slammer Tour members for various contributions and achievements, with the golfers being eligible if they had played at least 10 events throughout the 2015 season.

“The Slammies” represents the end of the outdoor season for the league, who will now take their activities inside until the hints of Spring come once again to the National Capital Region.

Found in 1997, the Slammer Tour introduced The Slammies in 2001.  

2015 Slammies Results (*Indicates new record set)

  • Jim Backs: The Preston Cup, Slammer of the Year: voted on by fellow members of the Tour
  • Riad Byne: Ottawa Sun Rookie of the Year: Awarded to a new Slammer who exemplifies the Tour’s values 
  • Gabe Rajhathy: The BG Golf-O-Max Cup: The season’s most improved player
  • Zac Wood: The Cascagnette Cup: Open Tour Champion
  • Cheryl Hill: The Falcon Ridge Cup: Ladies Tour Champion
  • Kevin Baldelli: The PARS 2000 Cup: A-Class Tour Championship
  • Calvin Turner: RBC Dominion Securities Senior Tour Champion
  • Brent Phillipps: Super Senior Tour Champion
  • Brent Phillipps & Jim Phillipps: The Parent-Child Tour Champions
  • Luci Leblanc & Allen McGee: The Co-Ed Tour Champions
  • Mike Therien: Promomedia B Tour Championship
  • Haley Yerxa: Ladies B Tour Champion
  • Shayne Sadaka: C-Class Tour Champion
  • Christian Bernard: Ladies C Tour Champion
  • Dennis Blackie: D-Class Tour Champion
  • Kevin Baldelli: Top-Ranked Slammer
  • Grumpy’s 10-Hole Club: Awarded to multiple players who were skunked in 2015
  • Jim Backs: The Most Style’n Slammer: Best-Dressed Slammer
  • Allen McGee: The Michelob Ultra Cup: Most Points (445)
  • Lisa Muise: The Culligan Cup: Most Closest-To-The-Pins (45)
  • Allen McGee: The Canadian Cup: Most Birdies (*237)
  • Allen McGee: The Office Doctor Cup: Most Eagles (3)
  • Allen McGee: The Dynamic Physio Cup: Most Skins (*139)
  • Allen McGee: The Ian Campbell Cup: Best Win Percentage (*98%)
  • Jim Backs: The Casselview Cup: Highest Financial Contribution

In addition to the awards the President of ClubEG (the operators of the tour), Jamie Ryan, presented a cheque for $10,000 to the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Eastern Ontario.  The funds were generated from a number of tour affiliated contests throughout the season.

A complete listing of the awards for  2015 and through their history can be found at this link.



FGM Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!