World #1 Luke Donald Headlines RBC Canadian Open

Vancouver (Golf Canada) – Golf Canada, in partnership with title sponsor RBC, announced today a contingent of emerging superstars and PGA TOUR notables that have confirmed their intention to compete at the 2011 RBC Canadian Open, July 18-24 at the renowned Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club in Vancouver.

Among the rising stars set to challenge for Canada’s National Open championship include World No. 1-ranked Luke Donald, rising star Rickie Fowler, World No. 7-ranked Matt Kuchar and World No. 12-ranked Paul Casey as well as 3-time PGA TOUR winners Anthony Kim, Sean O’Hair, Ben Crane, Lucas Glover and Hunter Mahan.

Also confirmed for Shaughnessy are 2011 Masters champion Charl Schwartzel, 2010 British Open champion Louis Oosthuizen and defending RBC Canadian Open champion Carl Pettersson.

In addition, the field for the 102nd playing of Canada’s National Open Championship will welcome several proven PGA TOUR veterans including 16-time PGA TOUR winner and 2-time Canadian Open champion Jim Furyk; 18-time PGA TOUR winner and World Golf Hall of Fame member Ernie Els; 7-time PGA TOUR winner Retief Goosen; and Justin Leonard, a 12-time PGA TOUR winner.  Other confirmed notables include Tim Clark, Charlie Hoffman, Ryan Moore, Ricky Barnes and Brandt Snedeker.

“We’re a month out from this year’s event and very pleased to welcome this tremendous mix of emerging talent and notable PGA TOUR veterans to the 2011 RBC Canadian Open,” said Bill Paul, Tournament Director of the RBC Canadian Open.  “With a terrific venue in Shaughnessy and a partner in RBC focused on results and delivering a world class championship, there is no doubt that Vancouver golf fans will be treated to a tremendous golf showcase this July.”

“Since 2008, we’ve worked incredibly hard with Golf Canada to build a world class tournament for PGA TOUR pros and young superstars as well as create an event that will entertain and engage people of all ages,” said Jim Little, RBC Chief Brand and Communications Officer.  “Knowing that Canadian golf fans want to see a strong, competitive group of players contend for the Championship title, we believe this year’s line-up will not disappoint and the 2011 RBC Canadian Open promises to be the best yet.”


This year’s RBC Canadian Open will feature 13 of this season’s PGA TOUR  event winners to date, including Jonathan Byrd (Hyundai Tournament of Champions), Jhonattan Vegas (Bob Hope Classic), D.A. Points (AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am), Luke Donald (World Golf Championship – Accenture Match Play Championship), Michael Bradley (Puerto Rico Open), Gary Woodland (Transitions Championship), Martin Laird (Arnold Palmer Invitational), Charl Schwartzel (The Masters), Brendan Steele (Valero Texas Open), Brandt Snedeker (The Heritage), Lucas Glover (Wells Fargo Championship), Keegan Bradley (HP Byron Nelson Championship) and Harrison Frazar (FedEx St. Jude Classic).


The field for the 102nd playing of Canada’s National Open Championship will feature three of the top 10 and 19 of the top 50 players on the official World Golf Ranking led by World No. 1 ranked Luke Donald.  Also confirmed are Matt Kuchar (#7), Charl Schwartzel (#10), Paul Casey (#12), Jim Furyk (#19), Hunter Mahan (#20), Ernie Els (#23), Martin Laird (#25), Retief Goosen (#26), Louis Oosthuizen (#31),Tim Clark (#32), Gary Woodland (#39), Bo Van Pelt (#42), Brandt Snedeker (#43), Jonathan Byrd (#44), Ryan Moore (#46), Ben Crane (#47), Ryan Palmer (#49), and Rickie Fowler (#50).


To date, 17 of the current top 30 on the FedEx Cup ranking have confirmed their intention to compete at Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club including Luke Donald (#1), Matt Kuchar (#4), Gary Woodland (#9), Jonathan Byrd (#11), Brandt Snedeker (#12), Martin Laird (#15), Webb Simpson (#16), Aaron Baddeley (#17), Hunter Mahan (#18), Charl Schwartzel (#19), Keegan Bradley (#22), Steve Marino (#23), Jhonattan Vegas (#24), D.A. Points (#25), Ryan Palmer (#26), Jason Dufner (#27), Spencer Levin (#28) and Brendan Steele (#31).  Overall, the current field projections would include 31 of the top 50 players in the points chase.


Similarly, 17 of the top 30 and 29 of the top 50 players on the current PGA TOUR money list – including Luke Donald (#1), Matt Kuchar (#5), Gary Woodland (#11), Jonathan Byrd (#12), Brandt Snedeker (#13), Martin Laird (#14), Aaron Baddeley (#15), Webb Simpson (#17), Hunter Mahan (#18), Charl Schwartzel (#19),  Keegan Bradley (#21), Steve Marino (#22), D.A. Points (#24), Jason Dufner (#25), Ryan Palmer (#26), Spencer Levin (#28) and Jhonattan Vegas (#29) – have confirmed their intention to compete in the 2011 RBC Canadian Open.


Defending champion Carl Pettersson tops a list of seven former Canadian Open champions including Nathan Green (2009), Chez Reavie (2008), Jim Furyk (2006 & 2007), John Rollins (2002), Scott Verplank (2001) and Billy Andrade (1998).

The group announced today will join Canadian favourites Stephen Ames, Canadian Golf Hall of Famer Mike Weir, Graham DeLaet, Chris Baryla, Matt McQuillan and David Hearn.  Other Canadians already exempt include defending Canadian Men’s Amateur champion and Team Canada member Albin Choi, 2-time defending Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur Champion Dave Bunker and 2010 Canadian PGA champion Brian Hutton, as well as Team Canada member Eugene Wong of Vancouver who was granted an exemption earlier this week.  The Canadian content for this year’s event will be bolstered with the addition of several other Canadian amateurs and professionals who will earn exemptions and be announced leading up to the RBC Canadian Open.

While several PGA TOUR players have confirmed their intention to compete for Canada’s National Open Championship, competitors have until Friday, July 15 at 5:00 pm ET to officially register for the 2011 RBC Canadian Open.


Flagstick Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!