Rochons Reign at Ottawa Sun Scramble

Winners of the 2012 Ottawa Sun Scramble Ladies Open and Flagstick Open Divisions. (L-R) Erika Godwin, Lisa Gordon, Jordan Rochon, Mathieu Rochon

Sometimes the bond of brothers can be a powerful thing.  Jordan and Mathieu Rochon proved that on August 19th as the Cornwall-raised teamed up to win the Flagstick Open Division at the 2012 Ottawa Sun Scramble Championship.

The Ottawa Gee Gee students and golfers held a two stroke lead heading into the final round at Eagle Creek Golf Club after posting a 10 under par score of 62 at Talon at Greyhawk two days prior.  The only problem was, they did the same thing last year and stalled their way to a final round 66, only to watch their fellow Gee Gees, Robert Mustard and Curtis Dancy, march to the title.

This year, though, things were different, by a little at least.

“We got off to a rough start but had a hot back nine,” said older brother Jordan, all of 22 and a member at Rivermead.  “It was our goal coming into today, after leading after round one, we knew we couldn’t back off.”

Jordan and his 19 year-old brother (who plays out of Massena Coountry Club)  made it very interesting as their two under par front nine score allowed the team they were playing with, 6-time champions Kyle Koski and Allen McGee, to creep back in to the picture as they headed to the back side of the course.

After matching eagles and birdies on holes 12 and 13, the Rochons finally separated themselves with an improbable eagle chip-in on the 14th hole only to have their closest rivals catch back up on #15.

A brilliant shot on #16 again pushed them ahead, a lead they would carry through to the 18th.  On that dramatic hole the brothers could only muster a birdie and had to sit back and watch their rivals putt for an eagle to force a playoff.  With skies darkening due to an impending storm Allen McGee, after a miss by Koski, poured in the eagle to do just that.

After a brief rain delay, both teams, who had reached -20 in regulation, headed down the 10th fairway with spectators in tow.  After reaching the green in two both teams lined up birdie putts.  Koski and McGee went first and missed theirs as did Mathieu Rochon on his attempt.  It was left to Jordan to sink his and he rolled in the putt for the clinching birdie.

“It’s fantastic to win this, to keep the trophy in the Gee Gees program,” said Jordan.

This was the first win for the brothers as a team.  They’re hoping it won’t be their last as they plan to defend their Flagstick Open title in 2013.

As the playoff was finishing in the Flagstick Open Division, the Ladies Open Division was finishing up on the opposite side of the course.

The Ladies side of the action was an all-Carleton Golf & Yacht Club showdown with Lisa Gordon and Erika Godwin carrying a two stroke lead into the final hole over the team of Lise Jubinville and Brenda Pilon.

That did not mean there was not a little bit of drama.

With the Jubinville/Pilon team sitting nicely in the fairway their opponents soon discovered that their tee shots on the 9th (their 18th) hole at eagle Creek has found trouble.  Gordon was in jail in the woods while down closer to the green Godwin had found a lateral hazard.

Taking a drop the Gordon/Godwin team pitched on to the green in three with the best possible outcome being a par.  After they failed to convert and made bogey they had to wait and see if their rivals could sink their mid-range birdie putt to push them to extra holes.

After they did not a relieved Godwin and Gordon smiled in delight knowing they had captured the win.

“It was a little stressful,” said Gordon of the final hole.  “They were playing really well and burning the edge on all their putts today so we expected them to make it.”

Added Godwin “It really played tough today, we had a couple bogeys but we managed to make some really clutch putts.”

Additional division winners at this year’s Ottawa Sun Scramble Championship included: Phil Girouard & Kyle Lanthier (D Division), Corey Domenico & Nick Brunet (Absolute Comedy C Division), Dean Tataryn & Kelly Winsor (Promomedia B Division), Wendy Erickson & Mary Shepherd (Ladies B Division), Lisa Haime & Diane Roscoe (Ladies C Division), Isaac Lieff & Lewis Miller (Junior Open), Perry Freda & Randy Blondin (Senior Open), Gerry Williams & Jason Munro (GolfWorks A).




FGM Digest delivers the most current and informative golf content directly to your inbox. Whether looking for the latest from the Tours, In-depth Interviews, Product Analysis or just about anything golf...WE DELIVER!

%d bloggers like this: